Five spook-tacular Halloween reads

As it’s Halloween, we decided to round up five spooky books from the Egmont bookshelves to appeal to readers who enjoy things that go bump in the night.

Amelia Fang and the Memory Thief by Laura Ellen Anderson

Amelia Fang and the Memory Thief

We kick things off with Amelia Fang, the coolest vampire in town.

Amelia and her friends are taking part in a competition to visit Pumpkin Paradise Park – the most bloodcurdingly brilliant theme park ever! All they have to do is sell as many cookies as possible.

But the creatures of Nocturnia have begun to act very strangely . . . No one can seem to remember anything – including their own names or even Amelia’s big birthnight party!

Where have everyone’s memories gone? And how can Amelia save them when they have all forgotten who she is?

Amelia Fang and the Memory Thief was published this month. Check out our quiz to see which Amelia Fang character you are.

Nick Sharratt Little Monster and the Spooky Party

Little Monster and the Spooky Party

Next is a great spooky book for little fingers.

When an invitation to a spooky party arrives on the doormat, Little Monster is very excited.

In Little Monster and the Spooky Party, you can lift the flaps to help him to discover yummy (and yucky!) treats in the kitchen, find his friends in a game of hide-and-shriek, and discover who could be underneath an enormous ghost costume.

Author Pippa Goodhart and illustrator Nick Sharratt created the perfect spooktastic book for children aged three and up.

Mr Men Halloween Party

Mr. Men Halloween Party

Mr Happy is having a Halloween party. A Halloween fancy dress party with spooky decorations, ghoulishly good treats and creepy costumes!

Mr Happy is a vampire, Little Miss Magic is a witch, but who is the mysterious ghost? Find out in Mr. Men Halloween Party!

The perfect Halloween treat for children aged 2 and up, this colourful Mr Men book comes complete with a fluorescent cover finish!

Jenny Nimmo - Midnight for Charlie Bone

Midnight for Charlie Bone

Another great spooky read is Midnight for Charlie Bone, the first instalment of the international best-selling fantasy series from Jenny Nimmo starring Charlie Bone.

Since his father died, Charlie Bone has lived with his mother and her mother, in the house of his other grandmother, Grandma Bone. Looking at a picture of a couple with a baby and a cat, he suddenly discovers he can hear their voices. Although he tries to hide his new gift, Grandma Bone and her scary sisters soon find out, and send him to Bloor’s Academy. Charlie quickly finds life at Bloor’s pretty tough, with its strict rules and the malevolent head boy, Manfred, set against him. When Charlie discovers that the child in the photograph is being held, hypnotised, against her will, he and his new friends with ‘gifts’ try to awaken her. But can they overcome Manfred’s sinister hypnotic gifts?

Midnight for Charlie Bone features classic magic and mystery from one of Britain’s best-loved authors of fantasy adventure. It’s perfect for fans of Harry Potter, Cornelia Funke’s Inkheart and Shane Hegarty’s Darkmouth, aged nine and up.

Villain by Michael GrantVillain

Finally, you could satisfy a craving for horror in the terrifying new instalment of Michael Grant’s sequel to the bestselling GONE series.

Dillon Poe wanted to be a comedian once . . . but everyone made fun of him. Dillon the loser. Dillon the freak. Now he can control anyone with the power of his voice and he’s preparing to send thousands to their deaths. Who’s laughing now?

Dekka, Shade, Cruz, Malik, Armo and a new mutant with unmatched powers are all that stand in Dillon’s way.

Superpowers don’t always make you a hero.

Villain is out now and follows 2017’s monster hit… Monster.

Other Articles

Win a Beast and the Bethany book bundle!

This week the Beast was unleashed from the pages of The Beast and the Bethany by Jack Meggitt-Phillips. He’s hungrier than ever and we need YOUR help to tame him. But the Beast has never been one to make things easy, particularly his outrageous meal requests. Read More

Egmont Books signs World Rights for Monster acquisition

Egmont Books, a division of HarperCollins Publishers, is inviting children around the world to become monster hunters after acquiring world rights to Monster Hunting for Beginners by debut children’s author Ian Mark. Lindsey Heaven, Fiction Publishing Director, Egmont Books, and Liz Bankes, Editorial Director at Egmont Books, secured world rights… Read More

Win a limited edition Amelia Fang print from Laura Ellen Anderson!

Pre-order a copy of Amelia Fang and the Trouble with Toads, the brand new book in the TOADALLY terrific series by Laura Ellen Anderson, for the chance to win a limited edition illustrated print. We have 10 to give away. Read More