10 Books to Read for National Non-Fiction November

November marks the beginning of a month-long celebration of Non-Fiction books. As much as we love losing ourselves in a fantasy world or laughing along with our favourite protagonist, not every child finds their way to reading through fiction. Some children are motivated to read through a curiosity and interest in the world around them. Non-Fiction November is an important time to shine a light on titles that will spark Children’s curiosity, introduce them to important issues and teach them more about the world around them. To celebrate we’ve raided the Egmont shelves and compiled a list of our top ten non-fiction books for children of all ages to read this November:

For Toddlers:

Cats Say Nau / Dogs Say Bau by Philip Bunting

It’s never too young to start learning and these board books from author and illustrator Philip Bunting are the perfect way to introduce toddlers to the world of languages.

When an animal makes its call, we all hear exactly the same noise. But depending on the language you speak, the way you translate that noise varies quite a lot!

Where in the world do cats say ‘nau’? Or cows say ‘bow’? Or birds say ‘pee pee’? Take a hilarious trip around the world for a fun way to learn about animal sound words in different languages.

Children will love interacting with the books by copying the noises of their favourite animals over and over again! A wonderful gift for animal-loving toddlers.

For Children aged 3-5:

What The Animals Saw by Lousie Grieg and Nicola O’Byrne

What if you could see through the eyes of an animal?

What the Animals SawDive, splash, soar and prowl through the book as you see the world through the eyes of some of the world’s most amazing animals. Take in the view as you soar like an eagle, gaze through the eyes of a prowling tiger, become part of a protective elephant herd, and much, much more.

This intimate look at the world through the eyes of some of the world’s most amazing creatures will take you from the snowy lands of Antartica to the heat of an African desert. Perfect for children aged 3 years and up, this is a gentle introduction to nature which will encourage questions and open up discussions.

Discover the world of animals in a whole new light.

All Kinds of Families by Sophy Henn

All Kinds of FamiliesA wonderful celebration of the diversity of family life that is perfect for pre-schoolers, from award-winning author/illustrator Sophy Henn – the creator of Where Bear?, Pass It On and the Lifesize series.

Just like us, animal families are all different. For orang-utans, mummy looks after the babies, for emus it is all down to daddy. Clownfish live with a mummy and daddy, some albatross families live with two mummies and some cheetahs are adopted by two daddies. For some families it is the grandparents, or even a huge family group, who help bring up the youngsters. But what’s the one thing that they have in common? Love, of course!

Reflecting the different ways that children live today, this warm and friendly introduction to the variety of family life is perfect for pre-schoolers to learn about the world around them, as well as seeing which family is similar to their own.

I Breathe by Susie Brooks and Cally Johnson-Isaacs

I Breathe is a brilliant way for children aged 3+ to learn about mindfulness, which is thought to improve children’s emotional well-being and academic achievement. Mindfulness is being taught in many schools and promotes physical and mental wellness, helping to improve children’s concentration and their ability to manage emotions, anxiety and stress.

Becky and Ben buzz and hum like busy bees, Alice snuffles like a bouncy bunny and Lulu roars like a brave lion. They learn to be calm, peaceful, free and strong. With yoga, every breath takes them on an adventure – and YOU can join in.

A fun, interactive and imaginative way for children aged 3+ years to learn mindfulness through yoga.

For Children aged 5-7:

How Colour Works by Catherine Barr and Yuliya Gwilym

How Colour WorksThe science of colour as you’ve never seen it before – this captivating book for kids aged 5+ covers key STEAM subjects: science, technology, engineering, art and maths.

Why is the sky blue? Why is snow white and darkness black? How do our eyes and brain create a world of colour?

Journey through lush green forests, splash into a watery blue ocean, be dazzled by a glowing jungle and see the world through a kaleidoscope of colour in this vibrant gift book.

Explained in an accessible way and combined with gorgeous illustrations, this engaging book is perfect for young readers and budding scientists.

For Children aged 7-10:

Human Journey by Professor Alice Roberts and James Weston Lewis

Human JourneyJoin TV biological anthropologist Professor Alice Roberts on a fascinating non-fiction journey to discover the secrets of our past, in this dramatic retelling of our human journey for children aged 7+ years. Adults who love Who Do You Think You Are? will enjoy reading and sharing this book with young ones.

Reach back through time and shake hands with your ancestors. Discover who we are, where we come from and even what it means to be human as you follow the amazing human journey.

This spectacularly illustrated book begins with the dawn of humankind on the grasslands of Africa around 2 million years ago and unfolds to follow our ancestors over time and all around the world: from Africa to Asia, Europe, Australia and the Americas.

Travel with them as they face perils posed by deserts, oceans, changing climates, giant beasts, volcanoes and more, as they adapted, invented, survived and thrived.

My Very Very Very Very Very Very Very Silly Book of Jokes by Matt Lucas and Sarah Horne

My Very Very Very Very Very Very Very Silly Book of JokesNot all non-fiction books are informative. Joke books are a form of creative non-fiction and we can’t think of a better one than the hilarious new joke book from multi-award-winning actor and comedian MATT LUCAS – star of The Great British Bake Off and creator of Thank You, Baked Potato, an official UK download chart-topper and Amazon bestseller!

With laugh-out-loud artwork from Sarah Horne, illustrator of the bestselling Charlie Changes into a Chicken. Perfect for readers age 6+.

If you’re planning on reading this very very very very very very very silly book of jokes, there are some things you’re going to need:

Spare pants In case you wet yours
Needle and thread In case you split your sides
Large box In case you laugh your head off (you’ll still want to keep it, right?)

Are you ready? The jokes are waiting!

Fake News: True or False Quiz Book by Clive Gifford and Chris Dickason

Fake NewsAn interactive jaw-dropping true or false quiz book all about fake news for fans of Ripley’s Believe It or Not! and National Geographic Kids Weird but True books.

Sort the facts from the fiction in a wide range of true or false questions and then challenge your friends, parents, grandparents and teachers to see if they know the true stories behind some of the world’s most enduring fake facts and weirdest hoaxes. Trump may have been shouting all about ‘FAKE NEWS’ but it has been a phenomenon since way before he was born!

Goldfish have three-second memories, some people’s sweat is bright blue, farts in jars were used to cure plague victims, peanuts are nuts . . . Can you spot the truth from the lies?

From dinosaurs and people to science and history – this is the perfect gift for inquisitive children that will widen their knowledge and keep them entertained and amazed for HOURS!

River Stories by Timothy Knapman, Ashling Lindsay and Irene Montano

River StoriesSail along five mighty rivers around the world and open up the giant fold-out pages to reveal incredible stories from history, mythology and modern times.

This gorgeous gift book will take you on a world adventure via the world’s greatest rivers. The Yangtze tells of dragons and dolphins, while the Rhine whispers about castles and Frankenstein. Explore pyramids, tombs and temples by the Nile, and search for lost cities and gold alongside the Amazon. And follow the Mississippi to hear of historic battles and dinosaurs.

Gorgeously illustrated pages fold out to reveal the full length of each river. Make an epic journey from source to sea and soak up the rivers’ amazing stories.

For Children aged 12+:

Fashion Conscious by Sarah Klymkiw and Kim Hankinson

Fashion ConsciousEmpowering the Greta Thunberg generation to change fast fashion.

With the Covid-19 global lockdown and a call to action from David Attenborough in Blue Planet II making everyone re-evaluate the relationship they have with the natural world, it has never been so important to consider the impact our clothing choices have on the planet. Shake up the fashion world by taking action as conscious consumers and active citizens. We have the power to collectively change the world with a change of clothes!

In the UK alone, over a million tonnes of clothes are thrown away each year and around £140 million worth of clothes head to landfill. Learn how to love your clothes by reusing, swapping and mending what you already have and discover how to choose wisely when you do buy something new.

This practical, positive and empowering book will open eyes to the impact our clothing choices have on people and the planet and empower children to demand answers to questions and take action.

About National Non-Fiction November

National Non-Fiction November LogoNational Non-Fiction November is the Federation of Children’s Book Groups’ annual celebration of all things factual.

Born out of National Non-Fiction Day, the whole month now celebrates all those readers that have a passion for information and facts and attempts to bring non-fiction celebration in line with those of fiction.

Find out more on the National Non-Fiction November website.

Other Articles

Electric Monkey pre-empts a collaboration from six of the biggest stars of YA fiction

Electric Monkey, the Nibbie-shortlisted YA imprint of Egmont Books, has made a lightning-strike pre-empt to acquire Blackout, the blockbuster commercial romance of the summer and collaboration between six bestselling and award-winning Black authors: Dhonielle Clayton, Tiffany D. Jackson Nic Stone, Angie Thomas, Ashley Woodfolk and Nicola Yoon. Read More

Win a copy of The Great Realisation & a limited-edition print!

To celebrate World Kindness Day on 13 November 2020, we’re giving away a copy of The Great Realisation by Tomos Roberts, illustrated by Nomoco, and a limited-edition print. We have one to give away. One winner will be selected at random and contacted by 3rd December… Read More

Egmont Reading for Pleasure Teacher Awards 2020

The winners of the 2020 Egmont Reading for Pleasure Teacher Awards, in association with the Open University and the UK Literacy Association (UKLA), were announced on Saturday 7th November during the Open University Reading for Pleasure webinar. 2020 marked the most competitive year to date, with a 66% increase in… Read More